Blogging my attempt to learn the German language!

Welcome to my blog, and to my mission to learn German!

German study book.  Purchased in Germany, of course!

German study book. Purchased in Germany, of course!

 

I have decided to make learning German a big part of my life, and so will need some encouragement along the way to keep me focused.  After reading a few blogs about learning languages, my favourite is definitely  http://www.fluentin3months.com.  This is Benny the Irish Polyglot’s blog, and I highly rate it for advice and tips on how to go about the daunting challenge of learning a new language, and links to a whole world of other great advice.

Benny talks a lot about your motivation to learn a language.  We need a better reason than ‘it would be impressive’ or ‘German guys are hot’ if we are to be really serious about it.  And we need to be motivated by other people.  If I stick with learning on my own, relying on beating everyone on Duolingo (more on that at some point), then I probably won’t get very far.

In this post, Benny talks about using a public blog as a motivating tool.  My goal will be public, so I am more likely to stick at it, and hopefully it will enable people to help me succeed by offering their encouragement and/or advice.  Also, I’ve been wanting to write a blog for a while, and now I have something fun to blog about!

I’ll try to do some blog posts about other things too, so it isn’t all me grappling with grammar…

Well, since I’ve made this public declaration I guess I better go and study some German…  I’ll be back soon with more specific details of my goal, but bye for now!

5 thoughts on “Blogging my attempt to learn the German language!

    • Wow I’m surprised you can remember anything at all from German in High School! I learned more Danish in three months than I learned in six years of studying Indonesian. I think having a real motive behind wanting to learn helps a LOT.

Leave a comment