Free university tuition? Yes please!

Lower Saxony has just become the final state in Germany to revert to free tuition.  This is in stark contrast to what is happening in my home country, Australia, where the current government is trying to deregulate university fees.  Fees which are high enough already in my opinion!

Fees were introduced in Germany in 2006, but proved unpopular so have been gradually wound back.  The prevailing belief in Germany is that tuition fees are socially unjust, putting those who are less well off or whose families have not traditionally gone to university at a disadvantage.

Great news for me, as the Masters courses I am interested in are at The University of Göttingen, which is in Lower Saxony.

The courses are in English, but if I’m going to live in Germany for two years I want to be able to speak the language.  Always good to have that extra motivation for keeping up with my German!!

If you want to know more, here are a few links:

International Business Times

The Australian

ZME Science 

Leave a comment